just what it sounds like…reading as a religion

Hopefully Almost Related

So, it’s obvious from my lack of posting that I am not reading anything.  I have absolutely ZERO time because life is HECTIC!  I cannot wait for graduation, so I can get a real job, instead of doing school, work, practicum, etc……  Anyways, I’ve decided that although I have no time to read, I miss writing.  I’ve kind of always wanted to be a writer, but I’m just not sure what to write about.  So for now, until my life calms down, Readligion is gonna take on a little bit different look.  You’re probably not going to find a ton of book reviews here, but instead I am going to share my thoughts on exciting book-related things that I stumble upon.  This is gonna be super SUPER fun…I think.

The Girl Who Was on Fire Edited by Leah Wilson

#1 OMG! Someone had the brilliant idea to have YA authors write about Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Game series…and then she put it all in a book.

  I heard it first over at FYA (one of my favie blog sites BTW). Doesn’t this sound fantastic?  Awesome YA authors writing about all the awesomness of an awesome book!  This intensely complex trilogy has just been begging for some serious unraveling.  I can’t wait to get my grubby little hands on this in April.

#2 Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher is gonna be a movie! Starring Selena Gomez! I am so excited about this news, I can barely breathe.  Thirteen Reasons Why, while somewhat depressing, is a killer book (no pun intended) and I’ve been kinda hoping they would make a move of it.  If you haven’t read it, check out my review.  Then, read it.  You will not be able to put it down. 

A lot of people are freaking out because they also love this book and are not fans of the Selena Gomez choice to play Hannah.  I love it! I’m a little bit obsessed with Selena Gomez right now.  How can you not love her? She’s so cute!  I think it will be great to see her play totally against type.  Cannot wait for more news about this film!  I’m gonna start thinking about who would make a good Clay.

#3 YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association) announces a new Reader’s Choice Booklist that anyone–I mean anyone–can nominate books for…I love this news because I love talking about YA books and want other people to love to too!  I am so excited that people everywhere can have a chance to have a hand in picking a list of great YA books because sometimes those awards voters don’t always love the people’s choice.  Democracy.  Isn’t that what America’s all about?  Young. Old. Big. Small.  Step right up and have your voice heard.  I can’t wait till I actually have time to read, so I can pick some great books to nominate.

Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen

#4 Last, but not least, I am actually reading a book.

  For Christmas, Santa Claus brought me just what I was asking for: Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen.  I’m only 50 pages in because as I stated before, I HAVE NO FREAKING TIME TO READ.  But, when I get a second here and there, I’ve been chipping away at this book and I would kill for the time to just sit right down and devour.  Already, there is so much yummy, Prohibitiony (I don’t think this is a word) goodness with LOTS of pretty clothes!  (Although, I can’t help but feel bad for poor John.)

So, I think that about wraps up my thoughts on the world of YA!  Tune in next time for another exciting installment!

2 responses

  1. Miss Anderson

    #1 and #2 have me the most excited! Thank you for sharing both of these.

    February 16, 2011 at 10:17 am

    • Thank you for sharing Thirteen Reasons Why with me! You were the first person to tell me about that book and I am very glad. I’m especially excited about a movie! Have you ever heard the audio version of 13RW, it’s pretty awesome so it gives me high hopes that a movie could be dramatic and awesome!

      February 17, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.