just what it sounds like…reading as a religion

Peter Pan Syndrome, or Why an Adult Would Write a Blog for Teens

The truth about me is:

I am an adult (sometimes).
I am going to be a librarian when I grow up (which is pretty much now).
In my head, I am a princess.
I consider myself a modern day Audrey Hepburn, which should appeal to you lovers of everything retro.
Some part of me forgot to grow up, so I am obssessed with pop culture and every latest trend.
If I could own only one book, I don’t know what it would be–but I can guarantee you it would be a young adult book.

And so here I am, writing a blog about young adult literature.  This blog is for the young and the young at heart.  It is for the Rory Gilmore’s of the world, who take a book everywhere (even to the school dance).  It is also for the people, I know you’re out there, who haven’t read a book since kindergarten and The Cat in the Hat.  You can love to read, too.  There’s something here for you if your hero is Princess Mia or also if it’s Alex Rider.  This blog does not discriminate–you will meet athletes, geeks, spys, socialites, vampires, werewolves, princesses, adventurers, and every other kind of character under the sun.

So, what will you find here? I am going to call them reviews, but I’m certainly not going to call them professional or scholarly.  Simply put, I am going to tell you about books that I read, what I like about them, what I don’t like about, what you might like about them, and any other idea about them that pops into my head.  Feel free to tell me your thoughts about books, about what I write, or about any other thing you want to tell me about.  If you have books that you’re interested in, ask me about them.  I might have already read them and can tell you what I think.

As an appetizer, here are some books that I’ve read lately and really enjoyed:

  • Absolutley True Diary of a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  • Dairy Queen by Catherine Murdock
  • Airhead and Being Nikki by Meg Cabot

You may see full-fledged reviews of these and other favorites of mine in the next few weeks.

See you later,
Sarah
readligion@gmail.com

One response

  1. Colleen

    I love your flare for reading. I think that your reviews are wonderful. This is a great resource and makes you want to dive into reading even more. Keep writing.

    June 9, 2010 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

