just what it sounds like…reading as a religion

The Meaning of Thirteen, or Why I Made This Awesome Podcast

So, this one’s all about a class assignment.  But, I promise that there are some awesome books within.  Basically, I had to book talk three books like I would as a librarian for a teenage audience.  The tricky part is that it had to be recorded as a podcast.  This is my first foray into podcasting, so be gentle.  Anyways, it needed to have some kind of general topic or theme.  Being the nut that I am, I couldn’t just pick any old theme.  So, I came up with what I consider to be an awesome idea: Books With the Word Thirteen in the Title

I know it’s probably not nearly as exciting to you as it was to me when I had this epiphany.  So, I’ll get to the point–what books did I choose?

Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman

Well if you’ve read my blog previously, you will know that I already reviewed Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and loved it!  That was my starting point.

From there, I added Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman.  I’ve had an advanced reading copy of this lying around since October.  I loaned it to my teenage brother and he told me it was awesome.  For some reason, probably general lack of time, I’ve put off reading it.  All I have to say is, boy, I wish I’d read this sooner.  Exciting and thrilling!  Totally great new take on the current trend towards the supernatural.  This book just hit the shelves last week and I am glad to be able to recommend it.

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Rounding out my podcast, I added something for those of you that prefer sunnier reading–Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson.  In this book, Ginny finds herself traveling alone through Europe following a mysterious trail of letters that her dead aunt has left for her.  Along the way, she finds adventure, romance, and littleof herself.  This one is definitely ‘awwwwwww’-inducing.  So of course, I loved it–despite its slight cheesiness.

So, without further ado, if you would like to listen to my podcast it is located at: http://readligion.podbean.com

Enjoy!

One response

  1. Pingback: Birthdays and Boys…Well Maybe, Boy…Singular. « Readligion

Leave a Reply

