just what it sounds like…reading as a religion

The End of an Era, or Why I’m Feeling a Little Disheartened

The Luxe Series Books

The Luxe Series by Anna Godbersen

I have just returned from a lovely weekend in Pennsylvania, spending time with my family and visiting with relatives.  Most delightedly, I was afforded quite a bit of time to read.  As such, I was able to finish digesting the dubious chronicles of Manhattan’s social elite in Anna Godbersen’s decadent Luxe series.

Oops, so sorry for such a formal tone.  It seems reading this series has left a mark on my grammar.  Anyway, per the title, I’m feeling a little disheartened as I finish this series.  I definitely enjoyed reading it.  Godbersen writes so deliciously about the scandalous lives of Manhattan’s turn-of-the-century elite that one can’t help but soak it all up.  So, in essence, finishing this series has saddened me as I wish there was more to read.  However, although I couldn’t tear myself away from the series, I felt myself a little disappointed as the ending didn’t turn out as I expected and wished.  Though, this is possibly one of the greatest characteristics of the series–the ability to make you believe you know what will happen next and surprise you all the same.  Fear not, while I was momentarily disappointed by the ending, I did find it quite satisfying.  As such, I urge you to read this series if you like a good tale of passion, society, and debauchery.  For those of you considering getting into this series, you might be swayed by reading my earlier review of the first title, The Luxe.  The excitement and mystery of this first novel is certainly carried out through the series’ three other titles, as they take twists and turns you might not ever have imagined.

I will have to be satisfied to wait for the first of Godbersen’s Bright Young Things.  This new series of four titles will bring the excitement and scandal of the Luxe series to the Jazz Age, with a new cast of young ladies to live vicariously through.  The fist title in the series will be released in October.  I wait in anticipation, for the beginning of this new era.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s