just what it sounds like…reading as a religion

YATV

What. Am. I. Going. To. Do!!!!!

It’s the crappiest part of the tv year!  All my favorite shows are just minutes away from their season finales or they are taking ridiculously long hiatuses so they can make it to May Sweeps with new episodes left. Dumb!

To make me feel better about all this tv sadness, I am going to share some of my favorite YA-inspired tv shows.

GOSSIP GIRL

GOSSIP GIRL

Gossip Girl

This one’s currently on a break, but it’ll be back in April.  Thank goodness!  This one is all about the DRAMA.  If you’ve been living under a rock, here is the scoop:

Lost of rich kids living in New York City and getting into all kinds of trouble.  (I was going to say their were some not so rich people, but even the Humphreys are now shacking up with the Van Der Woodsens.)

This is one that I initially loved.  Over its four seasons, I’ve gone back and forth on this one.  There is definitely a lot of drama and lots of intrigue.  But, I can only take Lily and Rufus getting into the same fight so many times.  However, this show is more about the young’ins and they are crazy.  They have been through every ridiculous situation out there (drugs, alcohol, pregnancy, long-lost siblings, almost-incestuous relationships, mean girls, class issues, corporate espionage, secret societies, death, car accidents, missing persons, backstabbing, banishment, amnesia, and on and on and on).  However, I’m a little tired of the constant relationship back and forths and am often annoyed by the couplings.  Can Serena please be with someone…anyone… for more than 2 episodes? 

Still, I love this show.   It divulges quite a bit from the books (as any tv show based on a book does), but it is really addictive.  You can’t help but be jealous of the gorgeous clothes and the gorgeous people.  I will continue to watch it as long as it’s on, but I can’t guarantee I won’t be shaking my head thinking, “This. Is. Ridiculous.”

Pretty Little Liars

Pretty Little Liars

Pretty Little Liars

This one is currently running, but we only have 3 episodes left this season.  Pardon me while I shed a tear. 

Four high school girls reconnect after the death of the 5th member of their group, Allison.  When they start receiving messages from a mysterious A who knows things only Allison knew, they get caught up in a dangerous game of cat and mouse and start to realize Allison might not have been the person they thought she was.

This show makes me so tense.  I am dying to know who A is and who killed Alli.  I haven’t read the books, but I have read spoilers online.  Still, there is no guarantee that the show will follow the storyline of the books. 

The primary antagonist of this show is the mysterious A character.  He/She only speaks to the girls through various non-verbal messages (text, email, post-its, etc.)  A’s threatening messages usually involve some sort of blackmail about the many secrets the girls hide (a mom who stole money from work, a student-teacher relationship, being a lesbian, parents who cheat, past relationships with sister’s boyfriends, etc.) 

Hints online suggest that we might find out who Alli’s killer is by the end of season.  Are Alli’s killer and A the same person?  That’s one we’re going to have to wait a little longer for.  Also, showrunner I. Marlene King insists they are going to keep A’s identity secret as long as possible. 

This one is definitely a puzzle, but I’m enjoying trying to figure it out.  Even if it doesn’t sound like you’re thing, check it out.  At least for the opening credits.  Some of the best I’ve seen in a long time!

And Now….the Granddaddy of them All….

Vampire Diaries

Vampire Diaries

VAMPIRE DIARIES

Probably the best YA-based tv show on right now.   Also, currently on a break.  I hate you CW.  Look for it again in April.

The town of Mystic Falls, VA seems to be a magnet for all things supernatural (Vampires, Witches, Werewolves).  Lots of pretty teens deal with keeping the supernaturals a secret, while also trying to protect all the people they love.

Popular human Elena Gilbert seems to be the center of everything.  She is torn between her love for two vampire brothers.  Stefan, the good one, is her boyfriend.  Damon, the bad one, loves her but is fighting his urge to be a better person.  I am definitely a Delena shipper.  These two are just two hot to not be together.  (Plus, Stefan seems to have much more chemistry with new vampire Caroline.)  Add in the fact that both brothers used to be in love with the vampire Katherine, who is the greatxabunch grandmother of Elena and who could be her twin, and you have some serious drama.

As you watch the show, you discover that Mystic Falls has a long history of supernatural connections and the present is no exception.  Everything that has happened over the course of history seems to have built to the present, where Elena struggles to figure out how it is all connected to her.  As she tries to figure out the mysteries of the past, the present seems to be ever on the tipping point of all out supernatural destruction of one sort or another.

This one is very sexy and very bloody.  I hope it stays around along time.  Unlike every new character on the show.  Who seem to have a 2-episode max before they die.

All in all, I love me some YA-inspired tv shows.  All the drama of a good YA book with tons of yummy actors.  I’m gonna be on a boat for the next week, so I’ll be taking a little break from my tv.  My DVR will be waiting patiently for my return.

Leave a comment